Organization also Extended the Appointment of Eight Existing Board Member

The Missouri Public Transit Association (MPTA) elected David Johnson of Kansas City to its Board of Directors during its 2022 State Conference and Expo, held yesterday in Springfield. He will serve for a two-year term. The organization also extended the appointment of eight current board members for another two-year term.

Johnson is a project leader at TransPro Consulting, a public sector management company focused on guiding transportation leaders and their teams to improved levels of performance and customer satisfaction. In this role, he is responsible for client management services and project oversight, particularly as it pertains to bridging the gap between technology and transportation services. Prior to his current position, Johnson served in several different capacities with the Kansas City Area Transportation Authority (KCATA), including as a technology integration manager for the $56 million Prospect Avenue bus rapid transit project and chief strategy officer during the launch of KCATA’s three-year “Mobility Momentum” strategic plan. He also served as vice president of planning and strategy with KCATA, where he oversaw service planning, marketing, and customer service. Johnson, a known leader in transit advocacy, previously served as chair of the Kansas City Regional Transit Alliance and has been credited with helping to steer multiple elections to fund one of the nation’s most successful modern streetcar programs during his time as chair.

“We are thrilled to welcome David to our Board of Directors,” said Kimberly Cella, executive director of the Missouri Public Transit Association. “His background, knowledge and expertise will greatly support the organization in its ongoing efforts to promote public transit access and services across Missouri.”

The existing board members re-elected to another term include Cindy Baker and Terri Barr-Moore of KCATA, Robert Lolley of the City of Joplin, Tom Mogelnicki of the Cape Girardeau County Transit Authority, Taulby Roach of Bi-State Development, Courtney Harrison of SERVE, Inc., Matt Crawford of City Utilities of Springfield and Dorothy Yeager of OATS.